Tico

8.31.2011

This (“Tico” from Paul Taylor’s Company B) is one of the most intense, impressive, painful looking solos I’ve ever seen.  As Francis said, this is what you do before you apply for worker’s compensation.

My emotions while watching it are extremely similar to the feelings evoked when I had to watch war documentaries in history class.  I’m interested and captivated, but at the same time I cringe and feel the need to look away, to ignore the suffering in front of me.  Company B is a brilliant ballet; the statements it makes on World War II are still completely relevant today.  I’m so happy that I am getting the chance to dance it.

Leave a Reply

